1
Error previewing .xlsx files
Question asked by Chris - November 13, 2015 at 8:37 PM
Answered
We're seeing the following error when trying to preview some .xlsx files.  They're more complicated than you're typical Excel workbook but FileVista supports Excel previews so expected them to work.  The error references to PDF are confusing.  I don't believe there are any linked or embedded PDFs but I'd have to ask the author.
 

Server Error in '/' Application.


Startxref not found

Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.
 

5 Replies

Reply to Thread
0
Cem Alacayir Replied
January 7, 2016 at 1:03 AM
Employee Post
Hi Chris,
We have released FileVista v7.0 which includes a new advanced Document Viewer. Other than having High Resolution zoom/Vector support, the supported file types should be improved. Please try the same .xlsx file with the Live Demo and let me know the result.
0
Chris Replied
March 16, 2016 at 3:50 AM
Thanks, I missed notification that this was answered but did finally upgrade to 7.0.9 and this is the error we get on previews now.  It seems to happen on all file types.
 
An unhandled exception has occurred.
Exception information:
System.TypeInitializationException: The type initializer for 'GleamTech.DocumentUltimate.DocumentConversion' threw an exception. ---> 
0
Cem Alacayir Replied
March 16, 2016 at 4:12 AM
Employee Post
Hi,
Please, first try to recycle the application pool that is assigned to FileVista in IIS Manager.
If you still get the same error, then it seems the application can not write to C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v4.0.30319\Temporary ASP.NET Files due to permission issues.
Normally this path is writable by the application pool accounts, as by default it has IIS_IUSRS group with Modify permission. Also if you do a permission change, recycle the application pool again so that the changes are recognized.
0
Chris Replied
March 16, 2016 at 4:54 AM
Still the same issue after an iisreset (this is IIS 6) and I can confirm via procmon that it's successfully writing to the path you listed.
0
Cem Alacayir Replied
March 16, 2016 at 6:23 AM
Employee Post
For future reference, as I guessed it turned out it was a permissions issue, Chris was using impersonation (Windows Authentication) so the temp folders which are by default accessible and writable via the default application pool accounts (default Windows Server configuration), was not writable via the impersonated custom account. So we gave Modify permission for this custom account on these temp folders to fix the problem:
C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v4.0.30319\Temporary ASP.NET Files
C:\Windows\Temp

Reply to Thread